programs partners funders contact reports
About Us


Mission Statement
Scarborough Housing Help Centre recognizes that each individual deserves safe, secure and affordable housing. We provide a holistic approach to combating the issues that result in homelessness. Dedicated to the principles of fairness and compassion, we seek to promote self-sufficiency and equitable access to community resources.

History
The Scarborough Housing Help Centre began in 1985 as a joint initiative between Catholic Cross-Cultural Services (CCS) and Agincourt Community Services Association (ACSA) to provide a room registry for single people. Over the next several years, the program began offering housing help services to a broader scope of clients, including seniors, families and couples.

In 2001, SHHC was incorporated as a non-profit and moved to its present location at 2500 Lawrence Avenue East. By 2003, SHHC received its charitable status.

We have worked with close to 400 landlords to promote affordable market rent accommodation and housed approximately 800 families in 2009. Our programs continue to grow as our clients’ needs diversify.

We are excited that our geographical scope to York Region is expanding through the addition of two new programs.

The Hidden Homelessness Among Newcomers project will disseminate housing information to landlords, newcomers and settlement workers in both Markham and Scarborough.

The Housing Database for York Region project is comprised of a partnership between SHHC, COSTI Immigrant Services and Citizenship for Affordable Housing. The project activities include the development of a housing database along with landlord recruitment which will help newcomers in York to find more affordable housing.


Board of Directors
Bill Sinclair – Chair
John Harty – Treasurer
Krittika Ghosh
Jason Yi
Nishanthini Nagaratnam
 


Staff Directory


Administration
S. Gopikrishna, Executive Director

Mary Francis, Office Manager

Housing Help in Scarborough &
Settlement

Ambi Sinnathambu, Supervisor of Housing Help and Settlement

Lovely Chowdhury, Housing Counselor/Utility Worker

Priyal Menon, Housing Counselor

Ramanie Ramasamy, Settlement Counselor

Parveen Sachdeva, Addiction Counselor

Marsha Smith – Johnson, Rent
Bank Worker

Cindy Wu, Settlement Counselor

Isabella Fong, Outreach Worker

Lu Ji, Landlord Recruiter

Sheik Shuaib Khan, Student Placement

Housing Help in York Region
Cima Irannejad, Housing Help Supervisor

Soojeong Park, Housing Counselor

Isabell Fong, Housing Counselor

Suzan Mousesian, Housing Counselor

Streets to Homes
Jovan Dzamov, Supervisor of follow up Support

Sarah Durant, S2H Follow-up Support Worker

Severn Nelson, S2H Follow-up Support Worker

John Noel, S2H Follow-up Support Worker

Leonard Collins, Staff for Hot Breakfast & Drop-in Program

Trusteeship Services in Scarborough
John Peddle, Trusteeship Worker

Reception
Hayganoush Higo Degirmenci





s.gopikrishna@shhc.ca

mary.francis@shhc.ca



ambi.sinna@shhc.ca


lovely.chowdhury@shhc.ca


priyal.menon@shhc.ca

ramanie.ramasamy@shhc.ca


parveen.sachdeva@shhc.ca


marsha.smith-johnson@shhc.ca

cindy.wu@shhc.ca

isabella.fong@shhc.ca

lu.ji@shhc.ca

placement@shhc.ca


cima.irannejad@shhc.ca


spark@shhc.ca

isabella.fong@shhc.ca

suzan.mousesian@shhc.ca


Jovan.dzamov@shhc.ca


sarah.durant@shhc.ca


severn.nelson@shhc.ca


john.noel@shhc.ca


leonard.collins@shhc.ca


jpeddle@nipost.org


info@shhc.ca

HomeAbout UsProgramsFundersContact usSHHC Reports
©2015 design by Bluesumac Worldwide
2500 Lawrence Avenue East, Unit 205   Scarborough, Ontario M1P 2R7
Tel: 416 285 8070   Fax: 416 285 5410   Please call for appointment